Cowboys’ missed opportunity due to obscure punt block ruling was ‘height of disappointment’

0
164
Cowboys’ missed opportunity due to obscure punt block ruling was ‘height of disappointment’

The Cowboys finally appeared to shift the momentum of their favor on Sunday only to have it shifted right back to the Broncos.

ARLINGTON — It was a momentum-changing play that wasn’t. After trailing 16-0 at halftime, the Cowboy’s protection forced a three-and-out on the first possession of the second half.

On the punt try, Cowboys extensive receiver Malik Turner came up the middle and blocked Sam Martin’s punt. The ball bounced off Cowboys rookie nook Nahshon Wright’s fingers, and Broncos linebacker Jonas Griffith snagged the ball and ran a number of yards earlier than being tackled.

AT&T Stadium erupted. It was lastly a chance for the Cowboys to show the sport of their favor.

After a discussion amongst the officers, the ball went again to the Broncos, who were awarded a primary down due to an obscure rule.

“I truly didn’t know the rule,” owner Jerry Jones said.

The rule: If a punt is blocked and goes past the road of scrimmage if it’s touched by the receiving crew beyond the line of scrimmage, the kicking crew is eligible to recuperate the ball.

So as soon as Wright “muffed” the kick, Denver was allowed to recuperate it. The principles point out Griffith couldn’t advance the ball.

Most of the players concerned within the play knew the rule.

“If it goes previous the road of scrimmage, if it goes behind it, we are able to scoop and rating,” Turner stated. “If not, they’ll still advance it.”

Mentioned Wright: “The ball was coming my way, and I’m on the line of scrimmage. I know I shouldn’t have touched it. However, I was trying to scoop and rating and make a play.”

Instead of getting the ball on the Broncos’ 17, the Cowboys’ protection went again on the sector. The momentum ended when Brandon McManus transformed a 27-yard subject objective to push the Broncos to a 19-0 lead.

“It’s the peak of disappointment,” Jones said of not getting an opportunity at constructing momentum. “Placing the cake out in front of you and letting you set your finger within the icing after which flip round and take [the cake away].”

Broncos coach Vic Fangio stated he knew the rule because his particular group’s unit had blocked a number of subject targets previously.

“Yeah, I knew that they’d touched it previous the road of scrimmage and I wasn’t certain we’d get it,” Fangio stated. “However, fortunately, the officers acquired it proper.”

Cowboys govt vice president Stephen Jones is on the competitor’s committee, so possibly the rule could be changed in order that when the kicking crew fails to get a primary down after recovering the ball after a blocked punt — no matter the place the ball bounces — the receiving crew can get possession.

“It doesn’t matter,” Cowboys coach Mike McCarthy stated. “We aren’t going to solve anything.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here